Diversity Spotlight Thursday #4: Adam Silvera Edition

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme that was created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Each week, you share three diverse books: one that you have read and enjoyed, a released diverse book that you have not read, and one that has not yet been released. Check out the announcement post here for more information.

A Diverse Book I Have Read & Enjoyed


More-Happy-Than-Not-Adam-Silvera.jpgTitle: 
More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Publication Date: June 2nd 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Near Future
Pages: 300

Why I love it: Such a cool setting. I love the world Adam created. The portrayal of internalized homophobia…. it wrecked me. Please don’t ask me about this book. I’ll just cry because it is way too personal. Unfortunately, it does have some ableism. Content warning for suicide and homophobia.

Synopsis: 

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Add it on Goodreads ⋆ Get it on Amazon


A Released Diverse Book that I Haven’t Read Yet

 

25014114.jpgTitle: History Is All You Left Me
Author: Adam Silvera
Publication Date: January 17th 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 279

Why I Want to Read It: I pre-ordered this a while back. Honestly, I’m still recovering from More Happy Than Not so that’s why I’ve been putting this off, but I plan on reading it soon. History Is All You Left Me has gay & OCD rep and is Own Voices.

Synopsis: 

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

Add it on Goodreads ⋆ Get it on Amazon


A Diverse Book that Has Yet to Be Released


https-%2F%2Fblueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fuploads%2Fcard%2Fimage%2F378840%2F9d40ed08-4af7-44ae-ab84-2b98fd8c7dec.jpgTitle:
 They Both Die at the End
Author: Adam Silvera
Release Date: September 5th 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Pages: 384

Why I Want to Read It: I love being murdered by Adam. He picks such great themes to focus on, and I love themes revolving around death.

Synopsis: 

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, this tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut the New York Times called “profound,” reminds us that there’s no life without death, no love without loss—and that it’s possible to change your whole world in a day.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: they’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news is: there’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—an unforgettable day that will change both their lives forever.

Add it on Goodreads ⋆ Preorder it on Amazon


Yes, I just did this.

Have you read any of Adam Silvera’s books? Did they murder you like they murdered me? Tell me your thoughts.

7 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #4: Adam Silvera Edition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s